Proven Excellence in Patient Care

CMS Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services - Five-Star Quality Rated
CMS Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services – Saint John’s Health Center – Five-Star Quality Rated

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services announced that Providence Saint John’s Health Center has earned a 5-star rating for providing quality and safe care to our community — marking our health center as one of the best in the nation.

The CMS star rating system is the gold standard for measuring quality and safety. The overall star ratings for hospitals address readmissions to hospitals and deaths after heart attacks or pneumonia. The ratings, from one to five stars, summarize a variety of quality measures across five areas: mortality, safety of care, readmission, patient experience, and timely and effective care. Providence Saint John’s is one of only two Providence ministries in Southern California that received a 5-star rating this year.

Thank you to our caregivers and physicians whose dedicated work and commitment to excellent care has earned this top recognition for our health center. For more than 80 years, Providence Saint John’s has been driven by quality, research, innovation and deep compassion for our patients and their families. We are honored to continue to deliver on our Mission.

In recent years, new measurement standards from CMS have put a heavier emphasis on customer experience ratings (McKinsey & Company, 2020). The CMS announced in 2019 that Medicare Advantage contracts would need to maintain a minimum rating of three stars. This change highlighted the importance of a plan’s ability to provide members with continuous positive experiences, in addition to offering quality patient care that meets or exceeds industry standards.


Why does the CMS’ Star Rating System Matter?

CMS created the Five-Star Quality Rating System to help consumers, their families, and caregivers. It’s aim is to help identify areas about which you may want to ask questions in regards to health care services. CMS calculates Medicare star ratings for Medicare Advantage plans using five categories. These categories are: Staying healthy (preventive services), Plan responsiveness, Managing chronic conditions, Customer service, and Management of member complaints.

Every year, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Service (CMS) evaluates Medicare Advantage plans based a 5-Star Rating system and assigns new Star Ratings so consumers can compare choices. Each medical and prescription drug service is calculated to determine the Star Rating for each offering, and a combined score determines a plan’s overall Star Rating.


Saint Johns Heath Center Santa Monica CA
Saint John’s Heath Center in Santa Monica, CA

Learn more